• United Kingdom
  • Sweden
  • Ireland
  • Germany
  • Austria
  • China
  • Finland
  • Norway
  • Canada
  • Russia
  • Ukraine
  • Bulgaria
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Hungary
  • Brazil

Translated with Google Translate. Your preferences will be saved and can be changed at any time.

Poker news | Apr 07, 2022

Phil Ivey Wins Another Short Deck Title at Triton

By RTR Alex

Ivey banner

Phil Ivey is on a roll at the 2022 Triton Poker Cyprus Festival - winning Event #3: $75,000 Short Deck at his third final table appearance in just 4 tournaments. The victory marks his second Short Deck High Roller title in 8 months, after taking home first place in Europe's Super High Roller series last year.

The 10-time World Series of Poker champ defeated a field of 51-entrants to bank a staggering $1,170,000 from the $3.7m prize pool. The final table showdown ended with heads-up play between Ivey and Wai Kiat Lee, giving Ivey his fourth consecutive live tournament win at Short Deck events.

Ivey wins triton

Final Day Recap:

Heading into Day 2 of the event, 11 players remained but just 7 paid places were up for grabs. The first to go was Mikita Badziakouski, followed swiftly by Daniel Cates and Chris Brewer - both eliminated by Mike Watson who held the chip lead entering the money bubble.

Father-son duo Richard Yong and Wai Kin Yong both made it to the final eight but Wai Kin was sent home by Ivey just one place short of the money. Ivey then landed a runner-runner to eliminate Ivan Leow in eighth with $194,500.

Soon after this hand, Ivey sent even more to the rail, with Richard Yong taking home $241,000 in 6th and Koon eliminated in 5th, which quickly made Ivey the chip leader. After Wai Kiat Lee knocked-out Tsang, Ivey took a huge stack with his elimination of Watson in third place.

This gave the Hall of Famer a 2:1 chip lead as he went into heads up play versus Lee. Just one hand later Ivey was crowned champion of Event #3 and was handed a seven-figure cheque alongside it.

Triton Special Edition Series: Event #3 Payouts

Place Player Country Prize
1 Phil Ivey United States $1,170,000
2 Wai Kiat Lee Malaysia $840,000
3 Mike Watson Canada $538,000
4 Elton Tsang Hong Kong $408,000
5 Jason Koon United States $315,000
6 Richard Yong Malaysia $241,000
7 Ivan Leow Malaysia $194,500