Daniel Negreanu becomes All-time Tournament Winner Again

Daniel Negreanu is already considered one of the top poker tournament players in the world. But some might consider Negreanu THE best tournament player after he re-took first place on the all-time money winners list this past week.

Negreanu leapfrogged Phil Ivey on the tournament money winners list after finishing second in the PokerStars Caribbean Adventure High Rollers event. Negreanu battled through a 38-player field, and into a heads-up match with Eugene Katchalov; unfortunately for Negreanu, he wasn’t able to overcome Katchalov and earn the $1.5 million top prize.

Here’s how the top five finishers fared in the $100,000 PCA High Rollers event:

1. Eugene Katchalov – $1,500,000
2. Daniel Negreanu – $1,000,000
3. Bryn Kenney – $643,000
4. Nick Schulman – $400,000
5. Humberto Brenes – $200,000

Negreanu wasn’t too disappointed with his second place finish as the casino poker pro  said, “Eugene Katchalov is one of the best players in the world, hands down, so losing to him in such a prestigious event is nothing to be embarrassed about, I fought really hard but the cards didn’t go my way. The million bucks doesn’t suck, and I’m proud of the fact that the finish allowed me to retake Phil Ivey as the number one all-time money winner in tournament poker history. I hope and expect to battle Ivey for that distinction for the next 20 years or so.”

Here is a look at how the top 5 players rank on the all-time tournament money winners list (keep in mind that this doesn’t include online poker winnings):

1. Daniel Negreanu – $14,131,104
2. Phil Ivey – $13,745,806
3. Jamie Gold – $12,223,798
4. Peter Eastgate – $11,311,881
5. John Juanda – $11,268,551

Seeing as how Ivey is still very active in poker tournaments, the battle for the top spot is likely to last for years to come. Juanda plays in a lot of tourneys too, so don’t be surprised to see him overtake Gold and Eastgate since neither of them play much.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *